Tone and I were discussing why some programmers (the majority that we work with) hate working with Objective-C/Cocoa and prefer tools like Java and .Net.  Then this morning I ran across this post on Hacker News:

…and it was like the final piece of the puzzle.  I think the love/hate break is between programmers who like to build things from parts (we’ll call them “assemblers”) and programmers who see each new program as a clean sheet of paper.  This passage was particularly resonant:

“I want to make things, not just glue things together.  When people ask me what I like about my job, I always say the same thing: that its the thrill of starting with nothing and making something.  That, for me, is the essence of programming, and it hurts that there isn’t as much of it about as there used to be.”

This is a problem I’ve been mulling over for a long time, this feeling of discontent as described in Mike’s article above and armed with this new perspective I believe I may have a clue as to how to get out of this funk.  I’m going to let it simmer for a few days, but if I come up with something clever and concise I’ll post a follow-up.

(note: there has been a lively discussion of this post over at Hacker News and while it’s at least 50% “meh”, there are some other good thoughts in there.)

