The problem, can easily be reproduced when a user logs into the ‘guest’ account, either on purpose or by accident, and when they log back out of the account and back into their normal one, they find that their account has been fully reset with all data wiped and lost – the account is like a brand new one. The home directory still exists under “/Users/username” but is completely empty.

There goes all my OS X smugness…

Advertisements