Last weekend the girls and I went on a mini-break and of the many activities, there was “Laser Tag”.

Just hearing the words took me back to the 80’s.  I had played once before at a laser tag “place”, in the early 90’s, but my earliest memories go back to the mid 1980’s when Tone and I got the “home game” in the form of the World Of Wonder Starlyte.

My memory is terrible, but I faintly recall a few games played in Tone’s mom’s basement, most of which culminating in the classic stand-off, two player standing two feet from one another, waiting for the other’s target to re-arm.

We were both so excited about getting the gear, but I don’t remember playing with it more than once.

So, I wasn’t too excited about playing the game again, but the girls were so I gave it a go.  Needless to say, it turned out to be very cool.  Maybe it was because of a more “designed” playing field, but I think more so that it was impossible to take a shot and cover all your target zones at the same time.  More likely, it was because there were more than two people involved.

When I got back I did some homework on the subject.  Turns out that, thanks to the “internet” I was able to track down all sorts of cool stuff, including the original commercial:

I’m stunned by the design of the Starlyte pistol.  Twenty years later, it still looks modern.  I’m poking around on ebay to see if I can get my hands on one just to examine it.  I told the girls I’d see what it would take to play the game at home, and I don’t know if that will mean scoring some this gear, something more “modern” or building it myself, but this is a good place to start.

