Yesterday went better than expected, in fact during the day it was a piece of cake (other than remembering the plan).

I went out for dinner with my in-laws and almost ordered a Mountain Dew out of reflex, but remembered at the last minute because, in a bizarre coincidence, my sister-in-law mentioned something about yesterday’s post.

I did notice getting sleepy earlier last night (around 11:30pm) although that could be attributed to my unusually (even for me) small amount of sleep I’ve been getting the last few days trying to work a couple of apps through the App Store.

This morning on the other hand was another story.

Most days, (and especially days that I stop for fuel) I find an excuse to pick up a Monster on the way to work in the morning.  Drinking this during my ~45 minute morning commute, I’m ready to go by the time I get to the office.  This morning, with nothing in my system but a bowl of fruit-flavored cheerios, I was nodding by the time I hit the 20 mile mark.

Arriving at the office, I shook off the idea of taking “just a five minute nap” before I headed in.  Once inside, I quickly prepared my first cup of “Twinings Price of Wales” and watched my iPhone count down the 12 minute steep time (so far that’s working best for me).

Now it’s almost an hour later, and I’m feeling about the same as I would with my usual routine.  I’m considering adding 100-200mg of ginseng to my morning cup (or two), just to see what happens.

I have a lot of work to do tonight, so I’m going to try adding another cup after dinner to see if I can stave off that 11:00pm slump, we’ll see what happens.

